Chicago Cubs Most Valuable Players

Cubs NL MVP WinnersCubs NL MVP Winners

2017 Update:

Giancarlo Stanton & Joey Votto had a very close vote for NL MVP in 2017.  Each player received 10 of the 30 first place votes and Stanton had just 2 more points to win the NL MVP award for first time in his MLB career.  

Kris Bryant did receive one first place vote and collected 132 points to finish 7th in the voting.

Anthony Rizzo earned 17 points and finished 13th in the voting.

Chicago Cubs Most Valuable Player Award Winners

1929 Rogers Hornsby
1935 Gabby Hartnett
1945 Phil Cavaretta
1952 Hank Sauer
1958 Ernie Banks
1959 Ernie Banks
1984 Ryne Sandberg
1987 Andre Dawson
1998 Sammy Sosa

2016 Kris Bryant

Bryant won the Rookie of the Year award in 2015.  He becomes the first Cubs player to win both Rookie of the Year and MVP.  He's the 4th MLB player of all time to win Rookie of the Year and MVP in their first 2 seasons. 

Ryne Sandberg
Ernie Banks
Andre Dawson

Recent Results

Anthony Rizzo finished 4th in the NL MVP voting in 2016

Anthony Rizzo finished 4th in the NL MVP voting in 2015

Jake Arrieta finished 6th in the NL MVP voting in 2015

Anthony Rizzo finished 10th in the NL MVP voting in 2014

Derrek Lee finished 9th in the NL MVP voting in 2009

Aramis Ramirez finished 10th in the NL MVP voting in 2008

Derrek Lee finished 3rd in the NL MVP voting in 2005

Hall of Fame Cubs, No MVP's

A few Cubs that had Hall of Fame careers, but never won the MVP include Billy Williams, Ron Santo and Fergie Jenkins. Although, all 3 came very close a few years.

Fergie Jenkins was 7th in 1971. Fergie did take home the Cy Young award in 1971

Ron Santo had solid showings in the MVP race in both 1967 and 1969 finishing 4th in the voting in 1967 and 5th in the voting in 1969

It seems rather fitting that the low key go about his job type of player like Billy Williams came ever so close to taking home MVP honors in both 1970 and 1972 finishing second both years to eventual Hall of Fame catcher, Johnny Bench.