NL Manager of the Year

1984 Jim Frey

Taking a team to the playoffs for the first time in 39 years, yes, that's a good reason to give Jim Frey NL manager of the year award honors.

1989 Don Zimmer

1989 was a great year for the cubs and Don Zimmer. Cubs got to the playoffs and lost an exciting NLDS to the Giants and Don Zimmer led the team which earned him NL manager of the year honors.

November 12, 2008

Lou Piniella named Manager of the Year Cubs won 97 games, the most in the National League, but exited the playoffs very quickly with a 3-0 NLDS loss to the Dodgers.

November 17, 2015

In his first year managing the Cubs, Joe Maddon led the team to 97 wins. typically, 97 wins gets you a division title, but the NL central was very difficult and it was only good for 3rd place behind the Cardinals and Pirates. Maddon than led the Cubs to playoff victories over their 2 divisional rivals until losing in the NLCS 4 games to 0 to the New York Mets.

Fan Duel Fantasy Sports