Chicago Cubs Cy Young Award Winners

Fan Duel
Cubs Cy Young Award WinnersCubs Cy Young Award Winners

Recent Results for Cubs Pitchers in Cy Young Award Voting

Max Scherzer prevents 2 Cub Pitchers from winning Cy Young Awards.  In 2016, he finished ahead of Jon Lester and in 2013, he finished above Yu Darvish who was with the Rangers at the time.  


Yu Darvish finished 2nd in Cy Young Award voting to Trevor Bauer of the Reds.  Darvish received 3 of 30 first place votes (Bauer won the remaining 27).  It is the 2nd time in Darvish's career that he has finished 2nd in Cy Young award voting.  The first time was in 2013 when he finished 2nd to Max Scherzer of the Tigers.  


Cubs had 2 legitimate contenders for the 2016 Cy Young award, but Max Scherzer had a great year as a workhorse type of ace pitcher that helped lead the Nationals to a 2016 playoff appearance.

Jon Lester received 18 2nd place votes giving him 2nd place for the award.

Kyle Hendricks led the NL in ERA and received one first place vote for Cy Young.   Hendricks finished 3rd behind Scherzer & Lester in the voting

November 7, 1979
Congratulations to Bruce Sutter as he wins the NL Cy Young award going 6-6 with a 2.23 ERA with 37 saves

Fergie Jenkins
October 26, 1971
Fergie Jenkins becomes the first Cubs in history to win the NL Cy Young
award with a 24-13 record in the 1971 season.  Fergie also sturcke out
263 batters and posted a 2.77 ERA. 

The Cubs finished the 1971 season with an 83-79 record and finished 3rd
in the NL East division.

Bruce Sutter
November 7, 1979
Bruce Sutter continued to be one of the best relief pitchers in 1979 and
became only the 2nd NL relief pitcher to win the Cy Young (Mike Marhsall
was the 1974 Cy Young Award Winner).  Sutter led the NL with 37 saves,
had a 6-6 record with a 2.22 ERA and 110 strikeouts in 101 1/3 innings.

Sutter was the winning pitcher in the All-Star game at the Kingdome in
Seattle in 1979 pitching 2 scoreless innings, giving up 2 hits and 2
walks and striking out 3 batters (Jim Rice, Rick Burleson and Bobby Grich).

the Cubs struggled a bit in 1979 posting an 80-82 record finishing 5th
in the NL East.

Rick Sutcliffe
October 23, 1984
When the Cubs traded top prospect, Joe Carter to the cleveland Indians
for Rick Sutcliffe on June 13, 1984, the Cubs had a 1 1/2 game lead
in the NL East over the New York Mets. 

Sutcliffe would post an incredible record of 16-1 the remainder of the
season to help the Cubs finish the season as NL East champions (6 1/2
games better than the Mets).

Sutcliffe won game 1 of the NLCS over the Padres at Wrigley Field not
only with his pitching arm, but his bat as well as he hit a home run
to give the Cubs a 1-0 lead in the series that the Cubs ended up losing
in 5 games. 

Greg Maddux
November 11, 1992
Greg Maddux was named the 1992 Cy Young winner, the first of his 4th
consecutive Cy Young Awards from 1992 to 1995 (the final 3 were as a
member of the Atlanta Braves). 

Maddux went 20-11 for the 1992 Cubs with a 2.18 ERA and pitched 9 complete
games and 4 shutouts. 

Maddux also won a Gold Glove for his 3rd straight season.

the 1992 Cubs struggled to a 4th place finish in the NL East with a 78-84

Jake Arrieta
November 18, 2015
The Cubs had a great 2015 season and Jake Arrieta played a big role in that success. Arrieta became the first Cubs pitcher to win 20 games since Jon Lieber in 2001. Arrieta's 22 Wins led the major leagues. He posted a 1.77 ERA along with a 0.865 WHIP. Since the Cubs entered the playoffs as a wild card winner, they needed a victory in a one game playoff in Pittsburgh against the Pirates. Arrieta pitched a complete game 5-hit shutout, striking out 11 Pirates to lead the Cubs to the NLDS series against the Cardinals that the Cubs won as well before losing to the New York Mets in the NLCS.